h1

Red Curry Poached Tilapia…with mmmmango.

July 22, 2008
Red Curry Poache Tilapia

Red Curry Poached Tilapia

Food from the sea has always been an easy sell with me. There is not much I like better than a bowl of mussels, or a breakfast of trout and eggs. Growing up in Maryland, I ate fried claims like they were chicken nuggets, and picked apart succulent blue crabs until my hands burned from the Old Bay seasoning. And though it took me a little while for my palate to tolerate fish that didn’t come in a shell, once I discovered the joys of salmon I never looked back.

It wasn’t until I started Weight Watchers that I realized that fish was not only tasty, but also a very low fat and low calorie source of protein. As long as I avoid covering them in mayo (more to come about the “Amtrak Cafe Car Tuna Salad Sandwich Debacle” at a later date) my favorite little fishes are a sure bet for an honest low points meal.

Tilapia is my favorite cook-at-home fish. It’s low key and versatile, but most of all it’s pretty cheap. There are a million ways to cook tilapia, but I’ve been really into poaching lately. It’s probably the fastest and most sure-fire method, and it’s really easy to clean up.

So last Friday when I got home way later than planned to be faced head on with the fish I had set to thaw I knew that poaching was the way to go. I got some water heating up in my large skillet and went to town on the odds and ends that hide themselves in my fridgerator. The dinner came together completely on the fly, but it was delicious and filled me up for under 10 points.

Red Curry Poached Tilapia with Mango
Serves 2

2 8oz Tilapia filets
Salt and Pepper

1 Tbs Red Curry Paste
2 Spring Onions, cut in half, green parts removed
3 cloves of Garlic
2 small Carrots, sliced into long strips
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 Tbs Maple Syrup
Water to fill pan

3 oz Rice Noodles

1/2 Ripe Mango, sliced
Sweet Chili powder (optional)

In a large high-sided skillet, pour 1-2 inches of water. Turn heat on stove to high.

Whisk in Curry Paste and Maple until dissolved. Add Spring Onions, Garlic, and Carrots. Bring water to a rolling boil.

Once water is boiling, add Rice Noodles. Once tender, remove noodles from broth using tongs. Set noodles aside and reduce heat on broth to a strong simmer.

Salt and pepper the Fish Filets on both sides. Drop carefully into simmering water- do not let the water boil. The filets cook quickly… they are done in about 5 minutes. Test for doneness by carefully trying to remove a filet. If the filet is difficult to remove and falls apart easily… it’s done!

Serve each diner 1 cup of rice noodles topped with a filet and 1/2 cup of the broth. Garnish with Mango slices and a sprinkle of Sweet Chili. Nestle some carrots and onions beside the fish.

Points analysis

It’s a bit hard to use the points tracker to figure this one because you don’t eat most of the broth.  What I ended up doing was counting the fish, the veggies, and the broth separately. The broth in my skillet came to about 8 cups, or 16 half cup servings. Here’s the totals:

8 oz raw Tilapia: 4 points
1 cup cooked Rice Noodles: 4 points
1/2 cup Broth: 1 point
3 oz Carrot: 0 points
1 Tbs Onion: 0 points
Total: 9 points

Note: I used Rice Noodles because that’s what was in my cabinet. This recipe could be JUST as delicious with Soba noodles, who’s high fiber content make them half the points of rice noodles.

Leave a Reply

