h1

The heat, and the Sorbet.

August 6, 2008

The weapon of choice.

Last week there were record high temperatures in Texas and other states in the southern-middle-part of the country. On Monday I actually heard a reporter say, “Things should be cooler tomorrow… about 105.”

Cooler?

105?

So, while I make no claim to that kind of suffering, I do want to acknowledge that New York has been no easy beast this summer.

The thing about New York is one is always outside. There’s none of the “air-conditioned-house to air-conditioned-car to air-conditioned-office” pattern that I grew up accustomed to in the just barely southern state of Maryland. Instead, we are walking… and then we are waiting for the subway in tunnels that are so hot and stuffy it’s like being in a steamer… and then we walk some more… and then we get to our office which (if we’re lucky) has central air and (if we’re me) just has a little window unit that makes a lot of noise. But please, I’m used to the lack of central air at this point because the turn of the century buildings that New Yorker’s so commonly live in have no central air. Even when it’s not that hot, like this week, it’s just unpleasant to be at home. I personally have virtually no cross breeze in my narrow apartment, so it’ll probably take until late September before my sweet home becomes bearable again.

Luckily, there is something that can be done:

This week, my CSA was kind enough to bring me a cantaloupe whose ripeness I could smell from the moment I entered my apartment. I barely put down my things before cracking the sucker open and rejoicing in the rich orange color and soft (but not mealy) flesh I found inside.

The cantaloupe had been on the counter all day, instead of cooling in the fridge, so it didn’t appetize as it was. Not to worry, I had a plan… a master plan to combat the heat (and an ice cream urge I was dealing with)… a plan that would satisfy all parts of me… a plan for sorbet.

A battle won.

A battle won.

Ginger Cantaloupe Sorbet

1 medium Cantaloupe
1 Tbs Honey (or more to taste)
2 Tbs Lemon Juice
2 Tbs fresh Ginger, grated
1 cup cold Water

Cut the Cantaloupe in half and remove the seeds. Slice the Cantaloupe into chunks and spoon into a medium sized bowl (no need to be precious about keeping the chunks as chunks, they’re about to be mush).

Add the Honey, Ginger, Lemon, and Water.

Pour mixture into blender (or use immersion blender) and blend until smooth. Now’s a good time to taste the mixture and see if you’d like some extra sweetener. How it tastes now is pretty much how it will taste frozen.

Chill mixture in fridge or freezer until it’s good and cold, about 40 degrees.

Pour mixture in an ice cream maker and freeze as per manufacturer instructions. If you don’t have an ice cream maker I bet you could make a granita with the same mix by freezing it in a shallow tray and breaking apart periodically with a fork… but I haven’t tried. You could also make it into popsicles if you have popsicle molds… Mmmm….

Points Analysis:

Because my cantaloupe was particularly naturally sweet, I needed very little honey. The recipe as is comes out to only 1 point per heaping half cup serving. If your cantaloupe is less sweet and you want to up the honey, you can add an extra Tbs without raising the points per serving. Once you move to 3 Tbs, you’re looking at 2 points… but 2 points still ain’t half bad.

Total: 1 at best 2 at worst.

Leave a Reply

